Moving Images student films win DStv Film Talent Celebration competition

The CNCI and Tin Rage Productions would like to congratulate the producers of Umbrella Man and A Procura de Pancho for their success at this year’s inaugural DStv Film Talent Celebration competition.

Both films were nominated in the category “best newcomer” with A Procura de Pancho taking home the award and well deserved prize money. A Procura de Pancho was also nominated in the ‘best cinematography' and 'best sound' categories. Over 300 entries were received for the DStv Film Talent Celebration competition, which aims to recognise and showcase some of the country’s best short films.

It is a nationwide search for the best short filmmakers South Africa has to offer, with short films defined as being between three to 10 minutes in length. The winners were selected by a panel of judges who are well respected and have extensive experience in the industry. These films were screened at the DStv Film Celebration event, which was attended by delegates representing key stakeholders within the industry including the Department of Arts and Culture and representatives of the National Film and Video Foundation.

Umbrella Man and A Procura de Pancho were originally produced in 2010 and 2011 respectively as a part of the Moving Spaces Student Film Competition, sponsored by the Cement and Concrete Institute of South Africa and produced by Tin Rage Productions. This competition, currently in its fourth year, allows a platform for young filmmakers and architects to produce films expressing insight into the built environment and the spaces we inhabit. The continued success of the films produced by the Moving Spaces Competition is testament to the value of such initiates which aim to inspire young creatives in the field.

Entry information for the 2012 competition can be found at

A Procura de Pancho crew list: Director & Editor: Christopher Bisset. Cinematographer: Ross Hillier
Producers: Michael Lewis & Zara Gray. Animations: Stephen Hitchcock, Tim Penfold, Christopher Bisset, Tiago Damasceno, Zara Gray, Michael Lewis, Jess Richards

Umbrella Man crew list: Directed and produced by: André Krige, Darius Coertze, Eric Ouko, John Du Preez, Rohan Wessels, Victor Salzman. DOP: Werner Prinloo. Music: Lufuno Muthala. Editors: Franscois stark, Riaan Olivier


Content Type: